Album Review: “Closer” by Silje Torsøe

After having done music professionally for over 20 years, Norwegian jazz/pop singer Silje Torsøe has finally dropped her debut album “Closer.” This dynamic album includes nine intimate songs written and sung by Silje, which are highly inspired by her favorite artists like Jill Scott, Beady Belle and Chaka Kahn.

Silje Torsøe Closer album

“Closer” Tracklist

  1. Taste of Honey
  2. Closer
  3. In the Dark
  4. Stay with Me
  5. Walk Away
  6. Cloudy Weather
  7. Escape
  8. Heart on the Floor
  9. Silence

The very first track “Taste of Honey” displays the clarity of thought and musical prowess of the team. The light and harmonious music keeps itself in the background (where it is supposed to be), while Silje sings her heart out in her hallmark, clear and silky voice. At no point does the music overshadow the vocals.

The title track “Closer” opens with a sweet, melodious music, slowly giving way to Silje’s sensual and romantic voice. Memorable lyrics like … “Because I am falling in love with you, can you hold me closer and tighter… Just call me crazy.  Baby, I want to be with you” will make you sing along with the track and listen to the song again and again.

“In the Dark” is another track in the album where Silje expresses herself so effortlessly. Intermittent trumpet by Petter Marius Gundersen adds an interesting aspect to the perfectly synced sounds of drums and guitar.

“Stay with me” is more energetic and faster-paced compared to the previous tracks. Scott Handler’s trumpet, Anders Mossberg’s keys, Simon Paus Sangholt’s acoustic guitar and Daniel Hinderaker’s drum all add up so marvelously, making it a toe-tapping number.

“Walk Away” narrates the pain and anguish of a breakup… when you just want to walk away from a relationship in order to get some peace of mind.

“Cloudy Weather” is another tragic song that describes the post-breakup scenario… when you feel so helpless, and each day seems to become a burden on you; happiness appears nowhere on the horizon and how you long someone to come and take away your pain. The steel guitar in this song is played by Dagfin Hjorth Hovind.

“Escape” creates an atmosphere of intense love with its meaningful lyrics and toe-tapping music. “…Touch my skin, I’m giving in… Take me, make me yours… I surrender to all your needs” Thus goes the lyrics of this song. The longing in Silje’s voice is so deep and strong that it makes you forget the world around you and takes you on a journey of love, where you want to unconditionally fall for your partner without expecting anything in return.

“Heart on the Floor” is again a ‘song of disappointment’… when you realize that your partner doesn’t care about you and you need to move away. “I have been saddened. There is no way back. I’m leaving… I cannot live around you anymore”. The lyrics are direct and to the point. This is the only song in the entire album that directly begins with the vocals, whereas all other songs begin after a brief music.

“Silence” is the last track in the album. “I need to go, I need to move on, I beg you just get out of my sight…” The lyrics are direct again and close the album on a tragic note.

All the 9 tracks in “Closer” have a groovy jazz feel and the lyrics narrate Silje’s views and personal life experiences. They tell the stories of joy, passion and vulnerability that come with casual and intimate relationships. With her passionate voice and realistic lyrics, Silje Torsøe connects with her audience almost instantly, since most of us can relate to one or the other life situation presented in the album.

About the Artist

Silje Torsøe is a Norwegian jazz/pop-singer and lyricist with international touring experience. She studied vocal and voice performance in Copenhagen. She has toured the entire southern Norway performing her own songs as well as those of others’ in her own personalized style. Having harbored a deep desire for years to release her own musical album, she began working on this project vigorously especially in the last couple of years.

Silje Torsøe Norwegian singer

Silje collaborated with the Swedish bassist/producer Anders Mossberg and brought together some of the talented musicians from Norway, the UK and the USA. Some of the notable names include Geir Grande Bjørknes (guitar), Kjell Håkon Aalvik (percussion), Trond Tellefsen (keyboard), Frøydis Grorud (saxophone), Petter Marius Gundersen and Scott Handler (trumpet), Dagfin Hjorth Hovind (steel guitar), Lars Nygaard (accordion), Ann Birgitte Tveiten (backing vocals), Simon Paus Sangholt (acoustic guitar) and Daniel Hinderaker (drums).

The album was recorded in Sanden Studio, Dub Studio and Fersk Lyd Studio. Sound engineering is done by Roald Råsberg, Endre Kirkesola and Giert Clausen. Anders Mossberg mixed and mastered the album along with Roald Råsberg and Giert Clausen.

The unique fusion of soul and R&B sets this album apart from other regular jazz/pop albums. Each element is blended perfectly well to sync with Silje’s breathtaking vocals. Overall, an album you may not want to miss!

Visit Silje Torsøe’s official website

Listen to “Closer” on Spotify